Skip to Primary Navigation Skip to Site Navigation Skip to Main Content All 3M.com Site Map

Frequently Asked Questions

The Need
Learn more about why we need high visibility safety clothing. Accident stats, etc.
More...

Reflective Materials
Learn more about retroreflective materials, how they perform, etc.
More...

Daytime & Low-Light Visibility
Learn more about fluorescent vs. retroreflective materials
More...

Why Choose 3M™ Scotchlite™ Reflective Material?
Learn more about the features & benefits of our products
More...

How Much Reflective Material is Enough?
Learn more about the Standards & Regulations for high visibility that require various trim placements
More...

Where to Buy
More...







The Need

Why is there a need for retroreflective material on safety clothing?

Using garments with reflective material increases worker safety under low-light level conditions.
How Frequent are Pedestrian Incidents relating to visibility?
Three out of every 100 occupational fatalities in 1998 were a result of pedestrians on foot being struck by vehicles or mobile equipment (WCB of Canada, 1998).
We wear light coloured clothing, isn't that enough protection?
White clothing can only be seen at 83 m (275 feet) from a vehicle with its headlights on low beams. At 72 km/hr (45 mph), a driver requires 203 meter (675 feet) to detect and recognize a hazard and perform a successful evasive maneuver.
We use fluorescent garments/vests. Isn't that enough?
Fluorescent materials are suitable for daytime conditions but ineffective at night and less visible than white fabrics. Under low-level conditions, reflective materials are also needed.

Top


Reflective Materials

What is the difference between reflective materials and retroreflective materials?
Almost all surfaces are reflective. This is the ability of a material to bounce light off of its surface so that it can be seen. There are different types of reflectivity: diffuse, mirror and retroreflection. Retroreflective materials are only one type of reflective materials. Diffuse reflection is the most common type of reflectivity. It occurs when light strikes a rough surface, such as pavement, foliage, clothing, and vehicles. These surfaces cause the light to scatter in all directions. The scatter light can be seen by our eyes. Mirror reflection occurs when light strikes surfaces that are smooth or glossy. The light reflects off the surfaces at an equal, but opposite angle to the source. Light bounced by mirror reflection may or may not be seen by our eyes. Retroreflection occurs when light bounces from a surface that is engineered to return light in the direction of its source. If a person is looking at the retroreflective material, and is positioned near the light source, this retroreflected light may be seen by our eyes. This is why a driver who is sitting in a vehicle near the light source provided by the vehicle can see the light being reflected from the retroreflective material on a person's garment who is standing at a distance in the beam of light.
When would I use retroreflective materials? Retroreflective materials in appropriate trim widths, lengths and performance are effective for improving visibility under low-light level conditions.
Do workers have to be facing a light for the reflective material to be effective?
Not with 3M™ Scotchlite™ Reflective material. The 3M bead technology ensures excellent visibility at all angles, allowing the wearer to be seen as they move about.

Top

Daytime and Low-Light Visibility

Can retroreflective materials retroreflect in the daylight?
Yes, retroreflective materials can retroreflect in the daylight. However, there is little contrast between the light retroreflected from the retroreflective material and the background (ambient) environment. Because of the lack of contrast, retroreflective materials are not effective for visibility enhancement of daytime conditions. Retroreflective materials are most effective under low-light level conditions.
What is a fluorescent material?
Materials that demonstrate fluorescence are those that can absorb energy in the near-ultraviolet and visible regions of the electromagnetic spectrum from the sun, then reemit the energy as longer wavelength visible light. The light energy from the sun that is converted into light energy that we can see offers daytime visibility enhancement not present with other colours. Fluorescent materials are most effective to daylight conditions.
Can retroreflective materials be fluorescent?
Yes, some retroreflective materials are made to be fluorescent. However, not all retroreflective materials are fluorescent. Furthermore, not all fluorescent materials are retroreflective.

Top

Why Choose 3M™ Scotchlite™ Reflective Material?

Is 3M™ Scotchlite™ Reflective Material a new technology?
No. 3M has been producing retroreflective material for over half a century. 3M offers two types of retroreflective technologies for personal safety: Microprismatic and glass bead materials.
Is 3M™ Scotchlite™ Reflective Material launderable?
All 3M™ Scotchlite™ Reflective Materials are launderable. Some are also dry-cleanable and others are also Industrial launderable. Please choose the appropriate product for your wash and exposure conditions.
Is 3M™ Scotchlite™ Reflective Material flame resistant?
Some 3M™ Scotchlite™ Reflective Materials are flame resistant. Our products are successfully used on millions of sets of fire-fighting protective gear globally. Please choose the appropriate product to meet your flame resistance requirements.
Will 3M™ Scotchlite™ Reflective Material resist abrasion?
Everything abrades in time. 3M™ Scotchlite™ Reflective Material can be abraded, as normal fabrics, but will retain good day colour and low-light level retroreflectivity for the normal useful life of the garment to which it is applied. A reflective product must not be judged on aesthetics only - performance is paramount.
Will 3M™ Scotchlite™ Reflective Material work when it is raining?
Under heavy rainfall (12.7 mm or 1/2" per hour) 3M™ Scotchlite™ Reflective Material retains 60% (new material) of effective reflectivity. For example, 3M™ Scotchlite™ Reflective Material 8910 Silver Fabric which typically demonstrates a brightness (coefficient of retroreflection, Ra) of 500 cd/lux/m2 when dry, retains 300 cd/lux/m2 in rainfall conditions. Did you know we are brighter wet than many competing products are dry?

Top

How Much is Enough?

How much retroreflective material should we use?
The type, brightness, amount, and placement of retroreflective material is an individual choice. This decision will be affected by the workplace that the workers are found in. Take into consideration: traffic speeds, workplace clutter, task load of the wearer, task load of the driver, wash conditions, and flame resistance requirements. End-users can turn to standards for guidelines.
What trim placement of retroreflective material should we use?
Use of patterns that outline the human form and provide 360 degree visibility is best. Standards may give good guidelines regarding trim placement. Please refer to the CAN/CSA Z96- 02, EN-471: 2004 or ANSI/ISEA 107-2004 standards.
What is a specification?
A specification is a document that explicitly describes the performance property or product that is required for the visibility-enhancing garment.
What is a standard?
A standard is a document that provides minimum performance properties required for compliance.
Why should I write a specification?
Specifications should be written because the products that can be purchased in the market are not all alike. Products may vary in retroreflective performance, wash and abrasion resistance, as well as performance under heat or flame conditions. Safety officers should identify what products best suit their application requirements, then document the requirement in a specification. Safety officers can specify a standard for use in their application.
What high visibility garment standards are available?
End-users may turn to the CAN/CSA Z96-02, EN-471: 2004 High-visibility warning clothing standard or the ANSI/ISEA 107-2004.

CAN/CSA Z96-02 Purchasing inquiries
Tel: 416-747-4044
Fax: 416-747-2510

EN-471: 2004 Purchasing Inquiries
Attn: Customer Services Publications at Milton Keynes
Tel: 011 44 0908 221166
Fax: 011 44 0908 226888

ANSI/ISEA 107-2004 Purchasing Inquiries
ISEA The Safety Equipment Association
1901 North Moore Street, Arlington, VA 22209
Tel: 703-525-1695
Fax: 703-528-2148
isea@safetycentral.org

Top

3M™ Scotchlite™ collage

Sauter à Navigation principale Sauter à Navigation du site Sauter à Contenu principal All 3M.com Site Map

Foire aux questions

Besoin
Découvrez pourquoi il est essentiel d’utiliser des vêtements de sécurité haute visibilité. Statistiques sur les accidents, etc.
Suite...

Matériaux réfléchissants
Découvrez les particularités des matériaux réfléchissants, leurs propriétés de rendement, etc.
Suite...

Visibilité pendant le jour et sous des conditions de faible luminosité
Découvrez les différences entre les matériaux fluorescents et les matériaux rétroréfléchissants
Suite...

Raisons d’utiliser les matériaux réfléchissants Scotchlite MC 3M MC
Découvrez les caractéristiques et les avantages de nos produits
Suite...

Quantité de matériau réfléchissant à utiliser
Découvrez les spécifications en matière de positionnement des garnitures proposées par les normes et règles concernant les vêtements à haute visibilité
Suite...

Où acheter
Suite...







The Besoin

Pourquoi est-il essentiel d’utiliser des matériaux rétroréfléchissants sur les vêtements de sécurité ?

L'utilisation de vêtements comportant des garnitures réfléchissantes augmente la sécurité des travailleurs sous des conditions de faible luminosité.
Quelle est la fréquence des accidents causés liés à la visibilité et impliquant des piétons ?
Trois accidents de travail sur 100 en 1998 impliquaient des piétons heurtés par des véhicules ou de l’équipement mobile (Commission de la sécurité et de l'assurance des travailleurs du Canada, 1998).
Nous portons des vêtements clairs; offrent-ils une protection suffisante?
Les vêtements clairs peuvent seulement être perçus à 83 m (275 pi) par un véhicule utilisant ses phares de croisement. À 72 km/h (45 mi/h), un chauffeur nécessite 203 m (675 pi) pour détecter et reconnaître un danger, et pour effectuer une manoeuvre d'évitement adéquate.
Nous utilisons des vêtements/gilets fluorescents. Est-ce suffisant?
Les matériaux fluorescents sont efficaces pendant le jour, mais sont inefficaces pendant la nuit et moins visibles que les tissus blancs. Sous des conditions de faible luminosité, des matériaux réfléchissants sont également requis.

Haut de la page


Matériaux réfléchissants

Quelle est la différence entre les matériaux réfléchissants et les matériaux rétroréfléchissants?
Presque toutes les surfaces sont réfléchissantes. Par définition, la réflexion est la capacité d'un matériau de renvoyer la lumière de sa surface de façon à ce qu'elle puisse être perçue. Il existe plusieurs types de réflexion : diffuse, spéculaire et rétroréfléchie. Les matériaux rétroréfléchissants ne représentent qu'un type de matériaux réfléchissants. La réflexion diffuse est le type le plus courant de réflectivité. Elle se produit lorsque les rayons lumineux frappent une surface brute, p. ex., chaussée, feuillage, vêtements et véhicules. Ils sont ensuite dispersés dans toutes les directions. Nos yeux perçoivent ces rayons lumineux dispersés. La réflexion spéculaire se produit lorsque les rayons lumineux frappent les surfaces qui sont lisses ou lustrées. Ils sont ensuite réémis des surfaces à un angle égal mais opposé à la source lumineuse. Les rayons lumineux réémis par réflexion spéculaire peuvent être perçus ou non par nos yeux. La rétroréflexion se produit lorsque les rayons lumineux sont réémis d'une surface conçue pour retourner ces rayons dans la même direction que la source lumineuse. Si une personne positionnée près d'une source lumineuse regarde un matériau rétroréfléchissant, les rayons lumineux rétroréfléchis peuvent être perçus par nos yeux. C'est ce qui explique qu'un chauffeur assis dans un véhicule et situé près de la source lumineuse peut percevoir les rayons lumineux réfléchis par le matériau rétroréfléchissant des vêtements d'une personne placée à une certaine distance et se trouvant dans le faisceau lumineux.
Dans quelles circonstances dois-je utiliser des matériaux rétroréfléchissants? Des garnitures comportant des matériaux rétroréfléchissants de largeurs, longueurs et rendement adéquats sont efficaces pour améliorer la visibilité sous des conditions de faible luminosité.
Les travailleurs doivent-ils faire face à la source lumineuse pour que le matériau réfléchissant soit efficace?
Si le matériau réfléchissant Scotchlite MC 3M MC est utilisé, ce n'est pas nécessaire. La technologie des billes de verre de 3M assure une excellente visibilité à grand angle, et permet à la personne portant des vêtements avec le matériau réfléchissant Scotchlite MC d'être perçue lorsqu'elle se déplace.

Haut de la page

Visibilité pendant le jour et sous des conditions de faible luminosité

Les matériaux rétroréfléchissants peuvent-ils rétroréfléchir les rayons lumineux pendant le jour?
Oui, ils peuvent les rétroréfléchir le jour. Cependant, il existe un faible contraste entre les rayons lumineux rétroréfléchis par un matériau rétroréfléchissant et l'environnement en arrière-plan. En raison de ce manque de contraste, les matériaux rétroréfléchissants ne sont pas efficaces pour améliorer la visibilité pendant le jour. Les matériaux rétroréfléchissants sont plus efficaces sous des conditions de faible luminosité.
Qu'est-ce qu'un matériau fluorescent?
Les matériaux démontrant une fluorescence sont ceux qui absorbent l'énergie dans les régions visibles et proche de l'ultraviolet du spectre électromagnétique du soleil, et qui réémettent l'énergie sous forme de lumière visible de longueur d'onde accrue. L'énergie lumineuse du soleil convertie en énergie lumineuse que nous pouvons percevoir permet l'amélioration de la visibilité pendant le jour qui n'est pas possible avec d'autres couleurs. Les matériaux fluorescents sont plus efficaces pendant le jour.
Les matériaux rétroréfléchissants peuvent-ils être fluorescents?
Oui, certains matériaux rétroréfléchissants sont conçus pour être également fluorescents. Cependant, les matériaux rétroréfléchissants ne sont pas tous fluorescents. De plus, les matériaux fluorescents ne sont pas tous rétroréfléchissants.

Haut de la page

Raisons d’utiliser les matériaux réfléchissants Scotchlite MC 3MMC

Les matériaux rétroréfléchissants Scotchlite MC 3M MC constituent-ils une nouvelle technologie?
Non. 3M produit des matériaux rétroréfléchissants depuis plus de 50 ans. 3M offre deux technologies de rétroréflexion destinées à la sécurité personnelle : microprismatique et billes de verre.
Les matériaux réfléchissants Scotchlite MC 3M MC peuvent-ils être lavés?
Tous les matériaux réfléchissants Scotchlite MC peuvent être lavés. Certains nécessitent un nettoyage à sec, d'autres un nettoyage industriel. Veuillez sélectionner le produit adéquat répondant à vos conditions de nettoyage et d'exposition.
Les matériaux réfléchissants Scotchlite MC 3M MC sont-ils ininflammables?
Certains matériaux réfléchissants Scotchlite MC sont ininflammables. Ils sont utilisés sur des millions d'ensembles d'apparaux de lutte contre l'incendie du monde entier. Veuillez sélectionner le produit adéquat répondant à vos exigences de résistance à la flamme.
Les matériaux réfléchissants Scotchlite MC 3M MC résistent-t-ils à l'abrasion?
Tous les matériaux finissent par s'user. Le matériau réfléchissant Scotchlite MC peut s'user, comme les tissus normaux, mais conservera une couleur et une rétroréflectivité sous des conditions de faible luminosité adéquates pendant toute la durée utile des vêtements sur lesquels il est appliqué. Un produit réfléchissant ne doit pas être seulement jugé d'après son apparence – le rendement est primordial.
Les matériaux réfléchissants Scotchlite MC 3M MC sont-ils efficaces sous la pluie?
Le matériau réfléchissant Scotchlite MC conserve 60 % (nouveau matériau) de sa réflectivité efficace sous des conditions de fortes pluies (12,7 mm ou 1/2 po à l'heure). Par exemple, le tissu réfléchissant argenté 8910 Scotchlite MC 3M MC qui offre une luminosité type (coefficient de rétroréflexion, Ra) de 500 cd/lux/m2 lorsque sec, offre 300 cd/lux/m2 sous la pluie. Saviez-vous que nos matériaux réfléchissants sont plus lumineux trempés que les matériaux réfléchissants concurrents secs?

Haut de la page

Quantité de matériau réfléchissant à utiliser?

Quelle quantité de matériau rétroréfléchissant devrais-je utiliser?
Le type, la luminosité, la quantité et le positionnement des matériaux rétroréfléchissants sont au choix de chacun. Le lieu de travail des travailleurs influencera cette décision. Prenez en considération : vitesse de circulation routière, encombrement du lieu de travail, tâches des personnes qui porteront les vêtements garnis de matériaux rétroréfléchissants, tâches des chauffeurs, conditions de lavage, exigences concernant la résistance à la flamme. Les utilisateurs peuvent consulter les normes pour obtenir plus de renseignements.
Comment dois-je positionner les garnitures de matériau rétroréfléchissant?
L'utilisation d'une disposition définissant la forme humaine et offrant une visibilité sur 360 degrés est conseillée. Les normes fournissent des directives concernant le positionnement des garnitures. Veuillez consulter les normes CAN/CSA Z96-02, EN-471 : 2004 ou ANSI/ISEA 107-2004.
Qu'est-ce qu'une spécification?
Une spécification est un document qui décrit de façon exhaustive les propriétés de rendement ou le produit requis pour la conception des vêtements améliorant la visibilité.
Qu'est-ce qu'une norme?
Une norme est un document décrivant les propriétés de rendement minimales requises pour assurer la conformité.
Pourquoi devrais-je rédiger une spécification?
Des spécifications doivent être élaborées parce que les produits offerts sur le marché n'offrent pas toutes les mêmes caractéristiques : rendement rétroréfléchissant, lavage, résistance à l'abrasion et rendement en présence de chaleur ou de flamme peuvent varier. Les responsables de la sécurité doivent identifier les produits convenant aux exigences de leurs applications, et documenter ces exigences dans une spécification. Ils peuvent spécifier les normes à utiliser pour leurs applications.
Quelles normes concernant les vêtements à haute visibilité sont offertes?
Les utilisateurs peuvent consulter la norme CAN/CSA Z96-02, la norme EN-471 : 2004 concernant les vêtements à visibilité élevée ou la norme ANSI/ISEA 107-2004 :

CAN/CSA Z96-02 Purchasing inquiries
Téléphone : 416-747-4044
Télécopieur : 416-747-2510

EN-471: 2004 Purchasing Inquiries
Attention : Customer Services Publications at Milton Keynes
Téléphone : 011 44 0908 221166
Télécopieur : 011 44 0908 226888

ANSI/ISEA 107-2004 Purchasing Inquiries
ISEA The Safety Equipment Association
1901 North Moore Street, Arlington, VA 22209
Téléphone : 703-525-1695
Télécopieur : 703-528-2148
isea@safetycentral.org

Haut de la page

3M™ Scotchlite™ collage